Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Leinster slump can't be pinned on Six Nations fatigue – Boss

Published 17/04/2014 | 02:30

Leinster's Isaac Boss during squad training
Leinster's Isaac Boss during squad training

Isaac Boss does not believe that Leinster are suffering from a Six Nations hangover after they suffered back-to-back defeats over the past fortnight.

The bulk suppliers to the Irish squad failed to fire in Toulon and in Swansea against Ospreys and are looking to turn things around at home to Treviso tomorrow.

The Ireland scrum-half was involved in the early Championship games before Eoin Reddan took his spot, but does not sense any sort of fatigue from his fellow internationals.

"I don't think so," he said. "Obviously it is a disappointment when you lose a big match but that is the nature of the beast.

"I have been around long enough to know you have to move on and sometimes the glory of it is you have a chance to make amends for it the next week.

"Now we have lost two in a row, which is not like us, but we have some big matches coming up and we have got to focus on what we can do. Treviso are coming off a high and they will be coming here trying to get some points.

"We have got to be more accurate. We've created a few opportunities (against the Ospreys) but for different reasons we haven't held the ball. We can't go through the phases or we have lost the ball at a ruck going forwards. Our skills have not been up scratch.

"There are no alarm bells that need to be going or anything. Just little things like that. Probably our discipline too in the last couple of games, we have given away a few shots at goal, which you can't do."

Leinster remain top of the Pro12, but face a tough trip to second-placed Ulster in the penultimate game of the regular season as they go in search of a home semi-final and final.

"Definitely, that is the key thing we are focusing on," Boss said. "We are top of the league and it is in our hands where we finish.

"We don't want to be travelling away for a semi or anything. Glasgow are coming up strong with a game in hand. Ulster are playing very well and obviously Munster are in there as well. It is in our hands. We need to up our game."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport