Wednesday 23 August 2017

Leinster leave it late to see off Glasgow

Leinster 23 Glasgow 18

Leinster's Isaac Boss is tackled by Mike Cusack of the Glasgow Warriors
Leinster's Isaac Boss is tackled by Mike Cusack of the Glasgow Warriors
Leinster's Fergus McFadden, right, Cathal Marsh, centre, and Isaac Boss following their side's victory

John Fallon

Leinster came good when it mattered most at the RDS to maintain their recent dominance over Glasgow Warrior to chalk up their third win of the campaign.

The absence of the World Cup stars has opened opportunities for others and the likes of Garry Ringrose showed last night that the Leinster conveyor belt continues to deliver.

Leo Cullen's men never lost their composure despite chasing the game for long periods but they made the most of Glasgow indiscipline to punish two yellow cards.

Glasgow enjoyed the bulk of possession in the opening half and Leinster were fortunate to be only 13-6 down at the interval.

The return of six internationals from the World Cup was a big boost to Gregor Townsend and his side took the lead when Zander Fagerson squeezed over after 14 minutes.

Warriors were deserving of their six-point interval lead, but with Pat McArthur in the bin, Leinster found a way through when scrum-half Luke McGrath sniped over.

Fergus McFadden added the conversion to tie the game.

Glasgow hit back when Waratah Taqele Naiyaravoro barged over, but he went from hero to villain 15 minutes from time when he was binned for knocking the ball dead with his hand, which resulted in a penalty try.

Leinster closed out the win when McFadden landed his third penalty in the final play of the night.

Leinster - I Nacewa (C Kelleher 75); G Ringrose, B Te'o, N Reid, F McFadden; C Marsh, L McGrath (I Boss 58); M Bent (P Dooley 50), A Dundon (J Tracy 40+3), M Moore (T Furlong 50); R Molony, M McCarthy; R Ruddock (D Ryan 70), J van der Flier, J Conan.

Glasgow Warriors - S Lamont; T Naiyaravoro, R Vernon, F Lyle, R Hughes; D Weir, M Blair (G Hart 69); A Allan (J Yanuyanutawa 68), P MacArthur (K Bryce 58), Z Fagerson (M Cusack 58); T Swinson (A Ashe 28), S Cummings (G Peterson 71); R Harley, S Favaro (H Blake 50), R Wilson.

Ref - I Davies (WRU).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport