Sport Guinness PRO12

Friday 21 July 2017

Joey Carbery starts for Leinster while Munster make five changes for Cardiff test

Joey Carbery. Photo: Sportsfile
Joey Carbery. Photo: Sportsfile

Joey Carbery will take his place in the Leinster team when they face Scarlets in Saturday's Pro12 clash against at the RDS (Kick-off 7.35).

Leo Cullen has brought in three faces from the team that won in Newport last week with Luke McGrath partnering Ross Byrne in the half backs, Richardt Strauss coming in as hooker and Hayden Triggs getting the nod in the second row after scoring off the bench last week.

Munster, meanwhile, have made five changes to their side to face Cardiff away on Saturday (5.15).

In two changes to the pack Darren O'Shea comes in to partner Holland in the second row with Robin Copeland making his return from a thumb injury to start at number 8.

Across the backline Ian Keatley re-joins Duncan Williams in the half backs with Rory Scannell and Jaco Taute resuming their partnership in midfield - Scannell overcoming the knock to his knee while Taute makes the positional switch from fullback.

The final changes sees Andrew Conway return at fullback.

LEINSTER (v Scarlets):

15. Joey Carbery (15)

14. Adam Byrne (17)

13. Zane Kirchner (81)

12. Noel Reid (77)

11. Fergus McFadden (145)

10. Ross Byrne (17)

9. Luke McGrath (68)

1. Peter Dooley (32)

2. Richardt Strauss (140) CAPTAIN

3. Michael Bent (80)

4. Ross Molony (37)

5. Hayden Triggs (24)

6. Rhys Ruddock (124)

7. Dan Leavy (31)

8. Jack Conan (45)


16. Bryan Byrne (17)

17. Ed Byrne (6)

18. Mike Ross (147)

19. Mike McCarthy (74)

20. Max Deegan (2)

21. Jamison Gibson-Park (21)

22. Tom Daly (5)

23. Barry Daly (8)

Munster (v Cardiff)

Munster: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony, Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Darren O'Shea, Billy Holland - capt.; Dave O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, Robin Copeland.


Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, Peter McCabe, Brian Scott, Fineen Wycherley, Conor Oliver, Abrie Griesel, Dan Goggin, Francis Saili.


Cardiff Blues v Munster, Guinness PRO12 round 17, Saturday March 4th at Cardiff Arms Park, ko 5.15pm.

Online Editors

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport