Wednesday 28 June 2017

Clash of the titans gets stellar cast as Henshaw and O'Mahony picked to start Leinster v Munster derby

Will Slattery

Will Slattery

Leinster have wasted no time in getting Robbie Henshaw back into their team after the centre's recovery from a knee injury, with the Ireland international set to make his debut for the province tomorrow afternoon against Munster.

The 2pm clash at the Aviva Stadium will see the renewal of Irish rugby's greatest rivalry, and thankfully both sides are close to full strength.

Henshaw will partner Garry Ringrose in midfield, in a centre partnership that has been eagerly anticipated by Leinster supporters. Injuries to Dave Kearney and Fergus McFadden mean that 22-year-old Rory O'Loughlin will wear the 14 jersey in what is the biggest test of his career to date.

Head coach Leo Cullen has opted to start Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong at prop, with Jack McGrath and Mike Ross kept in reserve.

Munster captain Peter O'Mahony will start a game for the first time in almost a year, with the flanker fit enough to start at blindside after a cameo off the bench against Zebre last Saturday.

Elsewhere in the pack, Niall Scannell and John Ryan replace Duncan Casey and Stephen Archer, while Rory Scannell and Ronan O'Mahony have been picked ahead of Jaco Taute and Alex Wotton in the backline.


15. Rob Kearney

14. Rory O’Loughlin

13. Garry Ringrose

12. Robbie Henshaw

11. Isa Nacewa (captain)

10. Johnny Sexton

9. Luke McGrath


1. Cian Healy

2. Sean Cronin

3. Tadhg Furlong

4. Devin Toner

5. Ian Nagle

6. Rhys Ruddock

7. Jordi Murphy

8. Jamie Heaslip



16. James Tracy

17. Jack McGrath

18. Mike Ross

19. Ross Molony

20. Dan Leavy

21. Jamison Gibson-Park

22. Joey Carbery

23. Noel Reid




15. Simon Zebo

14. Darren Sweetnam

13. Keith Earls

12. Rory Scannell

11. Ronan O’Mahony

10. Tyler Bleyendaal

9. Conor Murray


1. Dave Kilcoyne

2. Niall Scannell

3. John Ryan

4. Donnacha Ryan

5. Billy Holland

6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)

7. Tommy O’Donnell

8. CJ Stander



16. Duncan Casey

17. James Cronin

18. Stephen Archer

19. Robin Copeland

20. Jack O’Donoghue

21. Duncan Williams

22. Ian Keatley

23. Jaco Taute

Online Editors

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport