Monday 20 February 2017

Anthony Foley makes 10 changes for Munster's clash with the Dragons

Tom Rooney

Published 04/12/2015 | 14:16

Anthony Foley will demand a reaction against Dragons
Anthony Foley will demand a reaction against Dragons

Head coach Anthony Foley has made 10 changes to the Munster side that lost to Connacht for Sunday’s Pro 12 clash with the Dragons.

  • Go To

Niall and Rory Scannell are set to become the first brothers to start for Munster in the league, and will line out at Rodney Parade from hooker and out-half respectively. Dennis Hurley will captain the side from first centre.

Two changes in the back row see blindside flanker Shane Buckley make his first start of the season with Dave O'Callaghan returning at openside and Robin Copeland remaining in situ at number 8.

Tomás O'Leary continues at scrum-half and the selection of Rory Scannell at 10 for the first time in the current campaign completes an all-Dolphin RFC half-back pairing.

Scannell is one of two academy players included for this weekend's encounter with David Johnston starting alongside Hurley for the second time this season.

Simon Zebo and Ronan O'Mahony return to the back-three on the left and right wing respectively with Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino switching to full-back.

Having successfully rehabbed a quad strain, Tyler Bleyendaal is named on the bench.

On the injury front, the medical team reported positive results after Francis Saili's scan for a calf strain this week and the centre is expected to return to training next week, while BJ Botha continues to follow return to play protocols after sustaining a concussion against Connacht last Saturday.

Both Andrew Conway and Jack O'Donoghue were not available for selection due to illness as Conor Murray and Donnacha Ryan both manage respective foot and rib injuries.

Munster: Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Ronan O'Mahony, David Johnston, Denis Hurley Capt., Simon Zebo; Rory Scannell, Tomás O'Leary; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm; Shane Buckley, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, James Cronin, Mario Sagario, Billy Holland, Jordan Coghlan, Cathal Sheridan, Tyler Bleyendaal, Gerhard van den Heever.

Newport Gwent Dragons: Carl Meyer, Tom Prydie, Adam Hughes, Adam Warren, Ashton Hewitt, Dorian Jones, Sarel Pretorius; Boris Stankovich, Thomas Rhys Thomas ©, Brok Harris, Matthew Screech, Rynard Landman, Lewis Evans, Nic Cudd, Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: Rhys Buckley, Phil Price, Lloyd Fairbrother, Cory Hill, Ed Jackson, Charlie Davies, Jason Tovey, Ross Wardle.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport