Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Gilsenan try sees Ireland into final

Ireland U-18 Schools 24 France U-18 11

Published 16/04/2014 | 02:30

Matthew Gilsenan, Leinster
Matthew Gilsenan, Leinster

IRELAND produced a hugely impressive display in Poland to book their place in Saturday's U-18 European Championship final against England.

Matthew Gilsenan converted Sean O'Connor's early try from a line-out maul to get Ireland off to the perfect start. France hit back with a penalty, before sneaking over for a try in the corner.

Straight from the restart, Jacob Stockdale scored his third try of the tournament and Gilsenan landed the conversion, but France closed the gap to 14-11, before Gilsenan fired over a penalty to leave Ireland 17-11 in front at the break.

Ireland had to cope with severe French pressure after the restart, but they held firm and Gilsenan crossed for the clinching try.

Ireland – J Power (Blackrock); J Larmour (St Andrew's), C Mulcahy (Clongowes Wood), M Gilsenan (St Michael's), J Stockdale (Wallace High); J O'Brien (Newbridge), R Osborne (Clongowes Wood); A Porter (St Andrew's), J Molony (Clongowes Wood), C O'Donnell (Summerhill, Sligo), J Ryan (St Michael's, Capt), S O'Connor (Rockwell), W Connors (Clongowes Wood), J Guy (St Andrew's), M Deegan (St Michael's). Reps: H Kean (Blackrock) for Molony 54; P Claffey (Garbally) for O'Connor 63; P Kiernan (PBC, Cork) for O'Brien 65; C McIlmurray (Campbell) for Porter, D Duggan (St Michael's) for Osbourne both 67; G Jones (St Andrew's) for Deegan; C Kenny (Garbally) for O'Donnell both 68.

France – R Aulas; L Decrop, P Dupouy, E Roudil, K Qadiri; A Belleau, A Retiere; Q Walcker, Y Beheregaray, M Simutoga, F Verhaeghe, T Hannoyer, J Cancoriet, S Valleau, A Jelonch. Reps: M Voisin for Valleau (32), Y de Fauverge for Beheregaray (36), H Pirlet for Simutoga (43), D Caborde for Decrop (43), A Dupont for Retiere (60), C Castets for Walcker (67), J Goux for Hannoyer (67).

Ref – F Kirby (England).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport