Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


French affair as Munster host Toulouse while Leinster travel to Toulon in quarter finals

Published 19/01/2014 | 16:57

Simon Zebo, Munster, celebrates after the final whistle.
Simon Zebo, Munster, celebrates after the final whistle.

Munster’s reward for their six-try demolition is a home quarter-final to Toulouse while Leinster face the daunting task of travelling to Toulon.

  • Go To

The quarter-final pairings were finalised this evening after Clermont secured a bonus point victory over Racing Metro and will now take on the Leicester Tigers at the fortress that is the Stade Marcel Michelin.

Ulster were already assured of their number one seeding after their unbeaten run in the pool stages and were guaranteed to play Saracens, but the other pairings only became known this evening.

Rob Penney’s men kept up their end of the bargain with a bonus point victory over Edinburgh in the early kick-off and they will now face their great Heineken Cup rivals Toulouse in the last eight. The sides last met in the 2008 Final in Cardiff where Munster prevailed to claim their second title.

Leinster face a difficult visit to France to take on the reigning champions if they are to reach the semi-finals, though victory at Clermont two years ago and a recent victory at Castres fresh in their minds.

Toulon however have been building slowly after an underwhelming start to the competition and have yet to taste defeat in the Heineken Cup at the Stade Felix Mayol.

Heineken Cup Quarter Finals: (to be played on the weekend April 4th-6th)

Ulster V Saracens

Clermont V Leicester

Toulon V Leinster

Munster V Toulouse

Should Munster and Leinster emerge victorious they will then clash in a mouth-watering semi-final, while the winners of Clermont and Leicester will be Ulster’s reward if they see off the challenge of Saracens at Ravenhill.

Semi-final draw:

Ulster or Saracens v Clermont or Leicester

Toulon v Leinster v Munster or Toulouse

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport