Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Former Leinster player Rolland to referee Irish derby

Published 26/03/2014 | 15:59

Alain Rolland is to take charge of the inter-provincial clash between Leinster and Munster at the Aviva Stadium.
Alain Rolland is to take charge of the inter-provincial clash between Leinster and Munster at the Aviva Stadium.

Former Leinster scrum-half Alain Rolland has been handed the whistle for Saturday's interprovincial derby between his home province and Munster after French official Pascal Gauzere was forced to withdraw with injury.

The highly respected referee, who retires at the end of the season, has been given the blessing of both coaches to take charge of the game, while the IRFU have also approved the move.

Rolland has been identified as the best referee available at such short notice and a officiating Ireland's most high-profile domestic game in front of a packed Lansdowne Road would appear to be a fitting send-off.

It is normal practice for a neutral official to take charge of such a big occasion, but the man who took charge of the 2007 World Cup final is unlikely to find himself under much scrutiny, especially after Munster coach Rob Penney had no problem with his appointment.

The eagerly anticipated sell-out clash takes place on Saturday at 7pm.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport