Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fleming penalty the difference as Castletroy edge out Glenstal

CASTLETROY COLLEGE 8 GLENSTAL ABBEY 5

Published 06/02/2013 | 04:00

Goalkicking was difficult in this clash at Annacotty with a strong crossfield wind and torrential showers making life difficult.

Despite the conditions, though, both sides coped well and the difference between them at the final whistle was the only successful kick at goal – a penalty for Castletroy after 25 minutes by Conor Fleming.

Both sides registered tries by their No 8s, both had a player sin-binned in the second half and both missed good opportunities.

After several drives Castletroy finally had a try when David Rowsome squeezed in at the corner in the last play of the first half.

Glenstal were rewarded for a plucky display when the outstanding George O'Hara raced in after persistent pressure.

Castletroy College – O Kelly; S Hogan, R McDonnell, C Carroll, S McBrearty; J Heuston, C Fleming; J Conway, M O'Mara, C Myers; E Slattery, E Hourigan; L Ridder (K Davern), N O'Shea, D Rowsome.

Glenstal Abbey – K Glynn (R Johnston); S O'Sullivan, C Gavin, T Costigan, G Daly; J Stafford, C Hogan; L Lynch, J Williams, D Quane; T Broderick, A Donohue; W Murray, J Enright (D Halpenny), G O'Hara.

REF – D Sheehan (MAR)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport