Sport Rugby

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Christians send out message with six-try Glenstal drubbing

Published 21/02/2013 | 04:00

CHRISTIAN Brothers College laid down a marker, running in six tries against an overwhelmed Glenstal in their quarter-final at Temple Hill.

CBC were 10-0 up inside 10 minutes. With Glenstal No 8 Jack Boland in the sin-bin, winger Gerry Ryan darted over. Tomas Quinlan added the extras, plus a further penalty.

Glenstal fly-half Kevin O'Keeffe touched down at the end of the Limerick school's first meaningful attack of the game just before half-time, and added a monster penalty to reduce the gap to 10-8 at the break.

But Christians kicked on and got an overdue second try on 43 minutes through prop Liam O'Connor, before centre Joe Dowling burst through the midfield to score.

Further tries from Shane McAuliffe (2) and Adam McCarthy completed the rout.

CBC – C McAuliffe; R Slater, T Quinlan, J Dowling, G Ryan; C Monahan, R Foley; L O'Connor, D Fitzgerald, R Burke; S Gill, D Moloney; A Penney, T Arrigan, A McCarthy. Reps used: V O'Brien, R Quirke, G Roche, E Mintern, G Kalenga, J Higgins, M Clune, S McAuliffe.

Glenstal Abbey – H Connors; C Og Healy, A Boland, E Hurley, M Boland; K O'Keeffe, M Ryan; J Hartnett, J Healy, R O'Hara; E Ryan, C Buckley; C Hughes, R Dooley, J Boland. Reps used: I Molloy, M Ryan, K Glynn, H Beynon, R Johnston, M Horgan, J McAlease, M Finke.

REF – K Barry.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport