Tuesday 17 October 2017

Ulster make two changes for Heineken Cup final with Leinster as Twickenham teams named

Ulster's Johann Muller alongside head coach Brian McLaughlin
Ulster's Johann Muller alongside head coach Brian McLaughlin

independent.ie reporters

ULSTER have made two changes from the team that beat Edinburgh in the Heineken Cup semi-final for tomorrow’s final showdown against champions and favourites Leinster.

New Zealand’s World Cup winner John Afoa returns, after missing the semi-final because of suspension.

He takes the place of Declan Fitzpatrick at tighthead prop. Fitzpatrick drops down to the bench.

Chris Henry has successfully recovered from his knee injury and takes over from flanker Willie Faloon, who has been named among the replacements.

The team will be captained by Johann Muller.

Meanwhile, Leinster’s injury doubts - Rob Kearney, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy and Cian Healy - have all shaken off their knocks and have been passed fit for the Twickenham final..

The game kicks off at 5pm.

Leinster: R Kearney; F McFadden, B O’Driscoll, G D’Arcy, I Nacewa; J Sexton, E Reddan; C Healy, R Strauss, M Ross; L Cullen (capt), B Thorn; K McLaughlin, S O’Brien, J Heaslip. Replacements: S Cronin, H van der Merwe, N White, D Toner, S Jennings, I Boss, I Madigan, D Kearney.

Ulster: Stefan Terblanche; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Paddy Wallace, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Tom Court, Rory Best, John Afoa, Johann Muller (capt), Dan Tuohy, Stephen Ferris, Chris Henry, Pedrie Wannenburg. Replacements: Nigel Brady, Paddy McAllister, Declan Fitzpatrick, Lewis Stevenson, Willie Faloon, Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys, Adam D’Arcy.

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport