Tuesday 17 October 2017

Munster names 29 man panel for Northampton clash

Tony McGahan. Photo: Sportsfile
Tony McGahan. Photo: Sportsfile

MUNSTER coach Tony McGahan today named an extended 29-strong squad for the opening Heineken Cup game against Northampton Saints in Thomond Park Stadium next Saturday (6pm).

It is the same squad as the one from which the side to play Leinster was selected, except for Keith Earls, who damaged a medial ligament at the start of that game. He will be out of action for 4-6 weeks.

Felix Jones, David Wallace, Jerry Flannery and Mike Sherry are the other big names unavailable for selection.

The squad trained at Cork’s Institute of Technology (CIT) today.

Four scrum halves were named in the 29-man squad, while Ian Keatley and Scott Deasy will provide kicking cover at fly-half for Ronan O’Gara.

The squad: M Horan, W du Preez, BJ Botha, J Hayes, S Archer, D Varley, D Fogarty, D Ryan, P O’Connell, D O’Callaghan, M O’Driscoll, B Holland, P O’Mahony, N Ronan, J Coughlan, D Leamy, C Murray, T O’Leary, P Stringer, D Williams, R O’Gara, I Keatley, S Deasy, J Murphy, D Howlett, D Barnes, W Chambers, L Mafi, D Hurley.

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport