Tuesday 17 October 2017

Australians slam gaffe ref Rolland

Australia's Rugby Union has criticised Irish World Cup referee Alain Rolland after the IRB were forced into a U-turn over a substitution gaffe.

Despite insisting this week that he was right to force Australia to play with just 14 men in their Rugby Championship defeat to South Africa last Saturday, the IRB yesterday confirmed that he had erred.

Rolland ruled the Wallabies couldn't make a replacement in the 73rd minute of the Pretoria fixture as they'd used their seven substitutions.

But after reviewing the incident, the IRB declared last night Rolland and his match officials were wrong, having erred in making a replacement when prop Benn Robinson replaced an injured Ben Alexander.

Under Law 3.12, front-rowers who've been subbed off can come back on the field if another prop is injured, without it counting as a substitution, to ensure safe scrummaging.

In a statement, the ARU said: "It is ARU's position that management of the issue was not best practice and, in rugby, accountability exists in equal measure for match officials as it does for players and coaches. ARU hopes the referee has learnt from this error."

Irish Independent

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie


Editor's Choice

Also in Sport