Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Roger Federer romps to first round win at SW19

Simon Peach

Published 24/06/2013 | 14:58

Switzerland's Roger Federer in action against Romania's Victor Hanescu today
Switzerland's Roger Federer in action against Romania's Victor Hanescu today

Roger Federer opened up his Wimbledon defence and quest for a record eighth title by comprehensively defeating Victor Hanescu.

  • Go To

Dominating from the outset on Centre Court, the Swiss never looked in danger during his first match at the All England Club since losing to Andy Murray in the final of the London 2012 Olympics.

The 17-time major winner romped to victory in just one hour and eight minutes, beating Hanescu, ranked 45 places beneath him at 48th in the world rankings, 6-3 6-2 6-0.

Much tougher challenges await - notably a potential quarter-final clash with Rafael Nadal - but the manner of this afternoon's victory will have undoubtedly pleased the reigning champion.

It was always going to be a tricky afternoon for Hanescu and it got off to the worst possible start as Federer broke at the first opportunity.

It was a lead he never looked like relinquishing, dominating without pushing himself too hard.

The Romanian tried his utmost but paid for his failure to break Federer, who conceded just one point on serve as he took the first set in just 24 minutes.

The second set began very similarly to the first, with the Swiss breaking in the first game after the restart.

Federer, who recently won the Halle warm-up event, was nowhere near his supreme best but was still playing some wonderful shots, controlling proceedings with ease.

Hanescu was unable to cope and was broken again leaving him 3-0 down.

The Romanian showed little resistance and could do nothing to prevent Federer running through the set.

Federer again broke at the start of the third set and never looked back.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport