Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Rodgers: Ferguson wrong to say Gerrard is not a top, top player

Published 24/10/2013 | 12:17

Brendan Rodgers has defended Steven Gerrard, pictured
Brendan Rodgers has defended Steven Gerrard, pictured

Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers has hit back at Sir Alex Ferguson for claiming Steven Gerrard is not a "top, top player".

  • Go To

The former Manchester United manager made the comment in his autobiography, but Rodgers insisted the criticism was unjustified.

Rodgers told talkSPORT: "I think everyone who's seen the comments will think they are harsh.

"I've watched Gerrard for many years and recognised he's a top player, but it's only when you come in and work with the man that you realise how professional he is on a daily basis.

"His performance level at 33 years of age shows he's a top, top player. He's a great talent, a wonderful player and I don't think anyone could argue against that."

Joey Barton has also defended the Liverpool midfielder, claiming Gerrard was a better player than Ferguson's long-time captain Roy Keane.

He said on Twitter: "On a serious note. Gerrard for me, was better than Roy Keane. At one stage he was up there with the best midfielders in the World.

"Lucky enough to have Played against them both on number of occasions. Steven Gerrard streets ahead IMO. Keane was v good but SG better...

"People forgetting Keane played with the best in the World at United. He wasn't same player with the Republic. Was he?"

Ferguson was also dismissive of Gerrard's fellow England midfielder Frank Lampard, saying the Chelsea man was in his eyes not "an elite international footballer".

Rodgers was also full of praise for his in-form striker Daniel Sturridge, whom he reckons can become one of the best in Europe.

He said: "He's been brilliant. He's come here in January with a point to prove. He's very hungry and his goals per game ratio has been remarkable.

"Daniel's a player who produces. He's a natural goalscorer, but he's got so many other things to his game, pace, power and great feet. I think in the next few years he could be one of the top strikers in Europe."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport