Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Quevega builds towards Cheltenham

Published 03/03/2013 | 19:41

Quevega under jockey Katie Walsh
Quevega under jockey Katie Walsh

Willie Mullins declared himself "very happy" with Quevega after the history-seeking mare made a gentle appearance after racing at Leopardstown.

The nine-year-old is attempting to become the first horse since Golden Miller in the 1930s to win the same event at the Cheltenham Festival five times when she lines up for the David Nicholson OLBG Mares' Hurdle. Quevega galloped with another long-term absentee, Fiveforthree, and two other stablemates.

Mullins said: "We just brought them for a day out really. The intention was to just canter round for one circuit as they will work again during the week. They've been off the course for a long time so we just did it to knock the fizz out of them really, Fiveforthree certainly was fresh."

He added: "I was very happy with them but there was nothing informative, all it told us was that they are alive and kicking.

"Katie Walsh rode Quevega because she rides her at home and Davy Condon rode Fiveforthree. I had been looking at the World Hurdle for him again but I'm considering the Coral Cup also."

Dessie Hughes also took a few to the gallop, although there were far less in action than in previous years.

However, Hughes' big Triumph Hurdle hope Our Conor had a spin, along with Posiden Sea (Bumper) and Minsk.

"I was very pleased with all three of them," said Hughes.

"Posiden Sea won a bumper at Clonmel well and was then second to a nice horse here in December. Minsk seemed to really love the better ground and Our Conor was great, I couldn't be more pleased with him.

"He looked very strong and came up between horses and seems in good nick. Most of the work has now been done with them, it's just a case of freshening them up now."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport