Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Premier League 100 club: Where Man City's goals have come from compared to Liverpool's

Published 08/05/2014 | 11:39

Yaya Toure's goalscoring form has been incredible this season
Yaya Toure's goalscoring form has been incredible this season

Yaya Toure scored Manchester City's 100th league goal of the season to all but wrap up the trophy. Here's how the goals have gone in this season compared to rivals Liverpool.

  • Go To

The sight of Yaya Toure rampaging through Aston Villa's defence to score Manchester City's fourth and Manuel Pellegrini's side's 100th league goal this season has all but ended Liverpool's dream of lifting a first Premier League crown.

For all talk of how Liverpool have benefited from coming out of the traps, leaping on their opponents and getting their noses in front in the opening 15 minutes, it is surprising to see that City have actually scored more goals from the off compared to Brendan Rodgers's side.

City, meanwhile, have also become the Premier League masters of scoring vital late goals, netting a crucial 23 times in the final quarter, nine goals more than Liverpool.

 

While Liverpool have relied on their 'SAS' frontline of Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge, who have contributed 52 goals this campaign, Toure tops City's goalscoring chart with 20 - three more than Sergio Aguero who remains an injury doubt for the season finale against West Ham.

City have shared their 100 goals among 14 players this season, with vital contributions from midfielders David Silva, Samir Nasri and Fernandinho, while Liverpool have shared their 99 goals among 12 players with defender Martin Skrtel chipping in with seven.

PL2.PNG

PANews_N0365801391950934654A_I1.jpg

Martin Skrtel's goals have been crucial to Liverpool

Yaya Toure has been Man City's most potent attacking force

Manchester City have also scored more goals from outside the box (79) than Liverpool (69) while Rodgers's side have scored three more penalties than City with 10 and have scored six goals from a free-kick, double City's amount.

Liverpool have also headed home four more goals than City but City have had their goal ratio slightly boosted by five own goals in comparison to Liverpool's four.

PL4.PNG  

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport