Thursday 20 July 2017

Philly McMahon comes in as Jim Gavin makes one change to Dublin team

Ger Brennan. Picture: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE
Ger Brennan. Picture: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE
Dublin's Philly McMahon
Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

GER BRENNAN has held on to his place but Dublin boss Jim Gavin has made one change in defence for the All-Ireland SFC final against Mayo.

Kevin O'Brien is the man to lose out at corner-back where he is replaced by Ballymun's Philly McMahon, who gets his first start of this year's championship campaign, after impressing when he replaced the Portmarnock defender against Kerry last time out.

But Gavin has kept faith with regular centre-back Brennan, even though the St Vincent's man struggled with Colm Cooper last time out and was replaced by regular midfielder Cian O'Sullivan in the second half.

Brennan has started every game for the Dubs this summer and Mayo have once again picked former Allstar corner-back Keith Higgins at centre-forward but it remains to be seen if he starts there or plays a deeper role.

Dublin team to play Mayo: Stephen Cluxton; Philip McMahon, Rory O'Carroll, Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy, Ger Brennan, Jack McCaffrey; Michael Dara Macauley, Cian O'Sullivan; Paul Flynn, Ciaran Kilkenny, Diarmuid Connolly, Paul Mannion, Paddy Andrews, Bernard Brogan

Online Editors

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport