Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Paul Scholes tells Wayne Rooney to resist Chelsea advances

Published 26/07/2013 | 22:43

Wayne Rooney is reportedly eager to join Chelsea
Wayne Rooney is reportedly eager to join Chelsea

Paul Scholes believes Wayne Rooney should resist the appeal of Chelsea and stay at Manchester United.

  • Go To

The Blues had a bid for the England striker turned down last week - but their pursuit of him is ongoing.

However, 38-year-old Scholes said: "I don't think there's anywhere better than Manchester United to play your football.

"It's up to Wayne - but he's a top, top player and every player and fan wants him to stay."

Scholes, who made his United debut in 1993 and went on to make more than 700 appearances for the club, does not believe manager David Moyes is under pressure to recruit.

The Barclays Premier League champions have made two offers to Barcelona for midfielder Cesc Fabregas, for a reported £25million and £30million respectively, both of which were rejected by the Catalan club.

Scholes, who retired from action for a second time in May, added on Sky Sports News: "I don't think there's that much pressure.

"He's got a quality squad there, with already 18-20 quality players.

"Even if Sir Alex Ferguson was there he would want to sign two or three players. That's the norm every season - to improve the year after, even if you've won the league.

"I'm sure David Moyes is trying to get players - and hopefully he'll get the ones he wants."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport