Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Paul Gascoigne rushed to intensive care following bad reaction to detox

Published 10/02/2013 | 12:27

FORMER England midfielder Paul Gascoigne has spent time in intensive care as he continues his battle against alcohol addiction.

Gascoigne's former Tottenham team-mate Gary Mabbutt told Sky Sports News that the 45-year-old had a bad reaction to a detox treatment at a clinic in Arizona and had been admitted to hospital for observation, but said the indications were that Gascoigne was recovering and would soon be well enough to return to the clinic.

 

"Unfortunately over the last few weeks Paul has had a relapse, which culminated finally, last Monday, in Paul asking for help," Mabbutt said.

 

"By Monday afternoon he was on a plane out to Arizona to a clinic specialising in dealing with Paul's specific problems. The first thing he underwent was a detox, unfortunately Paul had a very bad reaction to the detox and the clinic decided that as a precaution it was best to transfer him to hospital.

 

"He was transferred to hospital in intensive care where they could monitor him 24-7. But I spoke to Paul's medical team in the UK this morning, they had spoken to Paul and he's recovering and hopefully soon he will be back into the clinic to continue his rehab.

 

"Over the years he has had a lot of support from the football family, but of course it could be a long road to recovery. Now Paul's asked for the help we can focus on getting through this."

 

Gascoigne's former England and Spurs team-mate Gary Lineker tweeted this morning: "Gazza is struggling, Let's hope he can hang on in there. Others have generously offered help. #GetwellGazza."

 

England striker Wayne Rooney, who looked up to Gascoigne in his youth, pondered whether Gascoigne would have benefited from working under Sir Alex Ferguson, having been close to a move to Manchester United before opting for Spurs.

 

"You never know what would have happened but I know Alex Ferguson is the best in looking after his players and making sure his players are doing the right thing," the United forward told Daily Star Sunday.

 

"I'm sure he would at least have tried to help him.

 

"It's a shame what's happening to Gazza. He was a hero of mine growing up. I'm sure everyone, every England fan and every Paul Gascoigne fan wishes him the best of luck. It's a sad time for him just now and I wish him all the best."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport