Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Waking up Schumacher may send him into 'vegetative state', warns medical expert

Published 04/02/2014 | 08:18

Michael Schumacher's management have again called for an end to the speculation regarding the condition of the seven-time Formula One world champion. PA
Michael Schumacher's management have again called for an end to the speculation regarding the condition of the seven-time Formula One world champion. PA

A leading medical expert has expressed concerns that attempts to wake Michael Schumacher from his induced coma may send the F1 legend into vegetative state.

  • Go To

Schumacher is currently being kept under anesthetic at the University Hospital in Grenoble since hitting his head on a rock while skiing on December 29th.

Doctors have warned the driver’s family that it could take weeks for all the sleeping drugs to be out of his body, but Professor Heinzpeter Moecke of the Institute for Emergency Medicine at the Asklepios Clinic in Hamburg says that waking Schumacher could leave him in a ‘permanent vegetative state’.

“There is unfortunately the risk that in sneaking out of a deep artificial sleep the patient is then in a waking coma,” he said.

“This would mean a permanent vegetative state where Schumacher would effectively be paralysed.”

“Waking up from an artificial sleep can leave the patient initially confused, not sure of who he is or where he is.”

Doctors in Grenoble have told Schumacher’s family that the toughest phase of his recovery is yet to come.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport