Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Spirit of 2007 can inspire ladies – Johnston

Published 25/03/2014 | 02:30

Ireland's women's cricket coach, Trent Johnston
Ireland's women's cricket coach, Trent Johnston

Trent Johnston has invoked the spirit of 2007 ahead of Ireland women's first match at the World Twenty20 this morning against New Zealand.

  • Go To

Johnston was captain of the Ireland team that famously shocked Pakistan at their first ICC World Cup, and seven years on he is coach of the Irish women's team that makes its debut on the global stage.

"This is exactly what we were witnessing back in 2007 and I have tried to base my preparations on what Adi (Birrell) did back then. It was a formula that worked then and the girls are of similar abilities to what the guys were," Johnston (pictured) said.

"They listen to everything, their commitment is great and as a coach you can't ask any more of them. We are all looking forward to finally getting stuck in to it tomorrow.

"We need to get into the game or stay in the game in the first six overs, whether we are batting or bowling – if that's the case we will give ourselves a chance to win."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport