Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Sharapova takes care of Riske business in emphatic style

Published 28/06/2014 | 18:12

Maria Sharapova of Russia hits a return to Alison Riske of the U.S. during their women's singles tennis match at the Wimbledon
Maria Sharapova of Russia hits a return to Alison Riske of the U.S. during their women's singles tennis match at the Wimbledon

Maria Sharapova completed a clinical march through Wimbledon's first week with a straight-sets victory over American Alison Riske.

The 2004 champion is yet to drop a set in the tournament, booking her slot in the last 16 with a routine 6-3 6-0 victory over the world number 44.

Sharapova unpicked 23-year-old Riske's game plan, overturning a break deficit in the first set and then striding to her triumph with ease.

Sharapova's sluggish start was underlined by a double fault that gifted Riske an immediate break-point chance that she did not waste.

The American's pinpoint service style right into the corner of the box then had Sharapova clambering to adjust.

Riske maintained her advantage, upholding the pressure on her Russian opponent - that was until the five-time grand slam winner rediscovered her poise to chilling effect.

The fifth seed clawed a deuce from 40-15 down on Riske's serve, then forcing a double-fault as the pressure got to the Pittsburgh native.

Acutely aware the early advantage was slipping, Riske then allowed Sharapova to break again and take control at 5-3.

The reigning French Open queen then clinched the set without issue, comfortably back in the groove.

Sharapova's ruthlessness shone through from then on in, the 27-year-old refusing to relinquish her stranglehold.

Dismissing Riske with peremptory ease, Sharapova blitzed through the second set without dropping a game.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport