Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Quigley out to light up Vegas with dream pro debut

Bernard O'Neill

Published 12/07/2014 | 02:30

Jason Quigley will make take on Howard Reece in Las Vegas and will be looking to make a statement in what will be his first professional fight. Photo: Paul Mohan / SPORTSFILE
Jason Quigley will make take on Howard Reece in Las Vegas and will be looking to make a statement in what will be his first professional fight. Photo: Paul Mohan / SPORTSFILE

Irish-American middleweight Howard Reece is a firm favourite to lose his fourth successive fight to a debutant in Las Vegas tonight.

The Florida native meets Ireland's Jason Quigley on the Canelo Alvarez v Erislandy Lara undercard on an Oscar De La Hoya Golden Boy Honor and Glory promotion at the MGM Grand.

Reece has lost six of his eight fights so far in the last nine months. Quigley has been training in the US for the last number of weeks and will be aiming to make a statement with victory against Reece in his first pro fight in Nevada.

"I've put in the work in the gym and I have been waiting for this moment for months," he said.

PROMINENCE

Quigley shot from relative obscurity to prominence after beating Irish Olympian Darren O'Neill on a countback en route to claiming his first Irish Elite title in February 2013. He then won gold at the 2013 European Championships and went on to become the first Irish male boxer to reach an AIBA World final in Kazakhstan last year.

Former multiple-weight world champion De La Hoya has every faith in Quigley. "He is explosive. We are excited to be showcasing such a decorated amateur in his professional debut," he said.

Meanwhile, Ireland and Northern Ireland will finish up their training camp with Australia, New Zealand and Scotland at the University of Ulster today.

Ireland are preparing the EU Championships in Bulgaria next month and Northern Ireland are gearing up for the Commonwealth Games, which begin in Glasgow later this month.

The National Senior Cadet Championships continue at the National Stadium in Dublin this morning. Boxing begins at 10.0.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport