Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00


Officials pass Usain back the baton he used to break the relay world record

Published 13/08/2012 | 05:00

Usain Bolt will have an extra souvenir to go with his three gold medals after Olympic officials handed over the baton used by the Jamaican sprint relay team in their world record run.

Bolt had tried to keep the baton after running the anchor leg as Jamaica stormed to victory in the 4x100 metres relay on Saturday, but was forced to surrender it by an official on the track.

The incident prompted booing from the 80,000 crowd, who were saluting 100m and 200m champion Bolt's triple triumph -- matching his medal haul from Beijing four years ago.

Organisers eventually relented after the race.

"The Jamaican team asked to keep the baton and it was given to them to take home," a spokeswoman said.

Prized items used in the Games have been auctioned off to help contribute to the cost of staging the Olympics.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport