Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Disappointment for Lyne in slalom run

Winter Olympics

Published 20/02/2014 | 02:30

Team Ireland's Conor Lyne is dejected after failing to finish the Mens Giant Slalom
Team Ireland's Conor Lyne is dejected after failing to finish the Mens Giant Slalom

There was further woe for the Irish participants in Sochi yesterday when Conor Lyne crashed out of the men's giant slalom.

Lyne, who has been battling a shoulder injury and only got the green light to compete on Tuesday, fell during his first run at the Rosa Khutor Alpine Centre.

"I'm disappointed that I didn't make it to the finish today," the 20-year-old tweeted after his ordeal. "However, I'm happy I made it to the start. I'm proud that I'm an Olympian now."

American-born Vic Wild claimed Olympic gold for hosts Russia in the men's snowboard parallel giant slalom final, minutes after seeing his wife Alena Zavarzina win bronze in the women's event.

Wild, who became a Russian citizen two years ago, beat Nevin Galmarini in the big final at Rosa Khutor Extreme Park, overcoming a first-run deficit to see off the challenge of the Swiss. "I want to thank Russia for giving me the opportunity to win a gold medal," said Wild.

The 27-year-old had first got past Patrick Bussler in the last four, with the German then missing out on a bronze medal in the small final to Slovenia's Zan Kosir.

Shortly before the men's event, Switzerland's Patrizia Kummer walked off with gold in the women's race after Tomoka Takeuchi of Japan fell in the second run of their showdown.

Reigning World Cup champion Kummer (26) beat home hope Zavarzina in the semis to set up a final against Takeuchi, who benefited from a slip by Ina Meschik in their last-four tie.

Zavarzina took bronze in the small final before watching her husband's success. "It's the first time we are the winners together," she said. "He has had the most incredible journey. He deserves it more than anyone."

Czech skater Martina Sablikova downed the Dutch by successfully defending the women's 5,000 metres speed skating title. Norway, anchored by the indomitable Marit Bjoergen, won the women's team sprint classic gold medal.

WINTER OLYMPICS,

LIVE, BBC 2, FROM 8.30

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport