Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Michael McKillop wins another gold and sets new Championship record

Published 24/07/2013 | 18:30

Michael McKillop, from Newtownabbey, Co. Antrim, celebrates after winning the Mens 1500 T38 final, in a championship record time of 4:10.17.
Michael McKillop, from Newtownabbey, Co. Antrim, celebrates after winning the Mens 1500 T38 final, in a championship record time of 4:10.17.
Team Irelands Michael McKillop, from Newtownabbey, Co. Antrim, celebrates after winning the Mens 1500 T38 final, in a championship record time of 4:10.17. 2013 IPC Athletics World Championships, Stadium Parilly, Lyon, France. Picture credit: John Paul Thomas / SPORTSFILE

Michael McKillop has won gold at the IPC World Championships in Lyon and set a new championship record in the process.

  • Go To

Michael McKillop won his second gold of the championships, with victory in the T38 1500m final.

McKillop took gold with a championship record of 4:10.17 just three days after his success in the T37 800m.

McKillop was more than two seconds ahead of Tunisia's Abbes Saidi, with Australia's Deon Kenzie third.

The 23-year-old said: "I was plodding along early on and the plan was to go at about the halfway mark.

"Thankfully I got away early with the spurt I put in. I was able to relax after that and then I kicked on again.

"I'm very happy because I set out to win the double."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport