Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Meredith steps down as Irish head coach

Hockey

Published 30/12/2013 | 02:30

A reluctance to up sticks and live in Ireland proved decisive in national men's coach Andrew Meredith's choice to quit the job after just 14 months.

A resident of Germany, the Australian native has found employment with German football club St Pauli after making the break from the IHA by mutual consent.

When Meredith took up the job, half of his Irish squad was based on the continent but only captain Ronan Gormley in Germany and goalkeeper Dave Harte in Holland remain.

His assistant Mick McKinnon has taken the reins on a temporary basis, along with under U-21 coach Jonny Caren, with a trip to Malaysia for a tournament in April looming.

McKinnon is likely to be a contender to take over the role full-time, with assistant Irish women's coach Graham Shaw also being mentioned as Ireland plot their bid to qualify for the Olympics in Rio 2016.

Brendan Gregory took his first outright win in the Leinster Le Fanu Cup Sporting Trial near Bray following a three-way tie on the normal 12 sections.

Elsewhere, James Lucey from Ballyvourney won the Cork MC Autocross at Ladysbridge, but Galway man Derek Deane became the first holder of the Five-Star Catering Loose Surface National Championship despite not taking part in the final round.

In the Men's Premier League, Killester beat UL Eagles 100-88, while DCU Saints had a convincing 98-64 win over Bord Gais Neptune. C&S UCC Demons remained unbeaten as they saw off Moycullen 98-64.

In the Women's Premier League, Team Montenotte Hotel secured a much-needed win over Liffey Celtics by 87-53.

LIMERICK southpaw Andy Lee is being lined up for a revenge match with ex-world champion Hassan N'Dam N'Jikam in Dublin on March 8.

The France-based African orthodox -- who beat Lee at the 2004 Olympics -- claimed the interim WBO belt last year but then lost to Peter 'Kid Chocolate' in New York.

The Fethard Open Club were unlucky yesterday as they failed to complete the card when they held their annual meeting. The Committee are scheduled to meet next Thursday to decide the destination of the stake.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport