Saturday 10 December 2016

Judd Trump powers through to World Championship snooker semi-finals

John Skilbeck

Published 29/04/2015 | 11:42

Judd Trump (left) celebrates beating Ding Junhui during day twelve of the Betfred World Championships at the Crucible Theatre, Sheffield
Judd Trump (left) celebrates beating Ding Junhui during day twelve of the Betfred World Championships at the Crucible Theatre, Sheffield

Judd Trump wasted no time in powering through to the Betfred World Championship semi-finals for a third time.

  • Go To

The world number six is strongly fancied to lift the trophy in Sheffield this year and clinched a 13-4 win over Ding Junhui to move a step nearer that goal.

Resuming with a 12-4 lead after dominating the first two sessions of the match, Trump crashed in a break of 66 to complete his day's work by mid-morning.

He faces Ronnie O'Sullivan or Stuart Bingham next. They were due to resume their quarter-final this afternoon, with Bingham holding a surprise 5-3 lead, a scoreline that meant for the first time in this tournament O'Sullivan was no longer the bookmakers' title favourite, with Trump assuming that mantle.

Read more: Superb Trump leaves bell tolling for Ding

Trump was runner-up at the Crucible in 2011 and also reached the last four in 2013, while his victory at the recent World Grand Prix set him up ideally for a tilt at glory on snooker's most prestigious stage.

Meanwhile, it was confirmed by tournament organisers World Snooker that O'Sullivan will face no punishment over Tuesday's curious incident involving his chalk.

Five-time champion O'Sullivan - who earlier in the tournament played some of a frame in his socks and was then warned about his behaviour following a hand gesture in the second-round match against Matthew Stevens - caused a stir when he placed the small cube of chalk on the baize while lining up a shot.

It is a move which is deemed against competition rules if any object is used to measure gaps or distances, and therefore subject to a foul with a seven-point deduction.

However, referee Terry Camilleri failed to call the penalty , and a tournament spokesman said that was the end of the matter, with no prospect of retrospective action.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport