Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


John Joe Nevin undergoes surgery to ‘re-set shin bone’ following horror attack

Published 08/04/2014 | 07:25

John Joe Nevin.
John Joe Nevin.

IRISH Olympic boxer John Joe Nevin has undergone an operation on his shattered right leg, as he begins his long road the recovery.

The silver medallist’s leg was broken in two places during a vicious attack outside his home over the weekend.

It is believed the 24-year-old was assaulted with a golf club.

The boxer underwent a three hour operation at Tullamore Hospital yesterday, with medics working to re-set the shin bone in his right leg.

Doctors are said to be happy with how the surgery went, according to The Sun.

Despite the career-threatening scale of his injuries, the Mullingar native has vowed that he will return to the ring.

It is believed doctors hope to be able to release him later this week – however he will spend the next three months recovering at home.

The boxer will then travel to the U.S to begin a gruelling rehab regime in the hopes of a return to the ring.

Officers are yet to quiz Nevin about the attack, however it is thought they will interview him when he is released from hospital.

Two men were held in relation to the incident, however both were released without charge.

A file is being prepared for the DPP in relation to one of the men.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport