Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jason Quigley begins pro career with devastating first round TKO

Published 13/07/2014 | 09:23

Jason Quigley with his sister Holly (five years)
Jason Quigley with his sister Holly (five years)

Donegal's Jason Quigley made a eye-catching start to his professional career with a knockout victory over Howard Reece inside 82 seconds.

The heavy hitting middleweight was the first Irish amateur to win a silver medal at the World Championships last year and is a massive prospect in the pro ranks.

The 23-year-old gained plenty of admirers after his performance at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas  on the undercard of the Canelo Alvarez and Erislandy Lara bout.

“I’m absolutely buzzing,” Quigley beamed. “I’m delighted to be on a show like this and win is unbelievable.”

Speaking ahead of the fight, Oscar Dela Hoya of Golden Boy Promotions said  “There is a fighter you really want to watch in his progression. He is explosive, fast and experienced, We are extremely excited to be showcasing a decorated amateur in his professional debut in Jason Quigley”.

Jason justified legendary Dela Hoya’s faith in him with an impressive, albeit not surprising win.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport