Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Irish boxer Matthew Macklin pulls out of Dublin fight following coach shooting

Published 06/08/2014 | 12:28

Matthew Macklin was hoping to seal a fourth world title tilt
Matthew Macklin was hoping to seal a fourth world title tilt

Matthew Macklin has pulled out of his middleweight clash with Jorge Sebastien Heiland in Dublin due to his lead trainer Jamie Moore being shot twice in the legs in Marbella.

  • Go To

The boxer nicknamed the 'Tipperary Tornado' was looking to secure a fourth world title chance in what was billed as an official eliminator for the WBC crown at 160lbs.

However, the Irish favourite has postponed the bout, which would have taken place on August 30 at the National Stadium, after Moore's attack in Spain.

"I am disappointed to have to postpone my fight but in the light of the circumstances and the disruption to my preparation it is the right thing to do," said Macklin.

"Every fight at this stage in my career is of huge importance and being 100 per cent for the night is vital."

As a result of Macklin's withdrawal from the card, Matchroom has revealed the entire show has been scrapped until later in the year.

Macklin added: "We will make an announcement shortly on a new date and I look forward to fighting in Dublin in 2014."

The coach and well-respected Sky Sports pundit who has no involvement in crime agreed to become Macklin’s coach last year and was shot in legs and foot at the weekend.

The villa where Moore was shot is owned by boxing manager Daniel Kinahan, a key member of the Christy Kinahan crime syndicate which operates a sizeable crime operation on Spain’s infamous Costa del Crime.

Birmingham-born Macklin has no involvement in crime but has been photographed in the company of major gangsters Gary Hutch and Daniekl Kinahan at major events.

He tweeted on Tuesday: "Thanks for all the well wishes. Overwhelmed. Gutted and confused about what happened, but thank God I'm ok. X'.

''It's at times like this that you realise how well your thought of. I've had unbelievable support. Means a lot it really does. #BoxingFamily''.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport