Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


I’m not a victim - It’s just a part of growing up, says Caroline Wozniacki

Published 24/06/2014 | 09:20

Caroline Wozniacki in action during her women's singles tennis match against Shahar Peer of Israel
Caroline Wozniacki in action during her women's singles tennis match against Shahar Peer of Israel

Caroline Wozniacki yesterday revealed she was received widespread support since her break-up with Rory McIlroy, but insists she is not a victim.

The 25 year-old - who saw her opening game at Wimbledon halted last night due to darkness as she led Shahar Peer 6-3 2-0 - has said that her family and friends have been a massive support to her.

Fellow tennis star Serena Willimas has also been very supportive to Caroline since McIlroy called off their engagement after more than two years together.

“I have felt a lot of support, and people have been so nice, but I’m not a victim,” she told reporters. “I’m not.”

“Everyone has had their ups and downs in life… it’s just part of growing up and learning.”

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger… there are bigger and better things for me out there in the future.”

The Danish star also paid tribute to fellow pro and friend Williams who will be bidding for a sixth Wimbledon title. Wozniacki spent time in Miami with the American and says it was a welcome relief.

“Serena has always been there for me,” she said.

“Sometimes things happen in life you don’t expect. She was there and it was great to have a friend there. I felt so energised after five days there.”

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport