Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

AET

Wales WAL 0

Northern Ireland NIR 0

Ongoing

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Ice-cool Sam Barry holds his nerve to edge thriller

Published 25/07/2014 | 02:30

Sam Barry
Sam Barry

TOP seed Sam Barry had to battle extremely hard to see off a gutsy challenge from Daniel Glancy in a titanic quarter-final of the Irish Men's Open at Fitzwilliam LTC.

With a 484-place advantage (345 to 829) in the world rankings, the Limerick man was a red-hot favourite to continue his winning run in the ITF Futures world-ranking event.

But after taking the first set, thanks to one break of serve, 22-year-old Barry was pushed all the way by his 25-year-old Mayo opponent before clinching a semi-final place on a 6-3 7-6 (9/7) scoreline.

In the first contest between the Davis Cup team-mates, Glancy's tremendous battling qualities were particularly evident in the 11th game of the second set, when he saved two break points and prevented Barry from taking a potentially match-winning 6-5 lead.

On two occasions Irish No 4 Glancy held game points, but Irish No 3 Barry battled back to deuce before the Castlebar native moved 6-5 in front.

In the next game, Barry trailed 15-30 on his serve before eventually levelling at 6-6 to extend the contest into a tie-break, where the Munster man quickly raced into a 3-0 advantage.

Subsequently, Glancy courageously saved three match points, levelling at 6-6 and 7-7 before Barry, holding an 8-7 lead, closed out the match by winning the next point on his opponent's serve.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport