Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


F1: I'll change motor racing for the better, vows Gerhard Berger

Ian Parkes

Published 14/02/2013 | 15:09

GERHARD BERGER has vowed to streamline the route to Formula One for potential stars of the future.

  • Go To

Berger, in his role as the FIA's Single Seat Commission President he took up last year, believes there are currently too many junior series that complicate matters.

The former McLaren and Ferrari driver, a 10-times grand prix winner during his 13 years in F1 and a former co-owner of Toro Rosso, feels it is time for a shake up.

"The Commission looks at everything between karting and Formula One and I find the pyramid at the moment is very loose," said Berger, speaking to the FIA's InMotion magazine.

"There are too many championships out there and attention between them is split too much.

"People are complaining that the best drivers are now all spread out and so you cannot look at the British Formula Three Championship, for example, and say that he is certain to get to Formula One.

"These days the best drivers are all over the place: one in Formula 3, one in GP3, one in Formula Renault and one in Formula Abarth.

"The system no longer does what it is supposed to do, which is to give a highly-talented driver a CV he can use to progress to Formula One."

Berger's plan will see a nation, region or promoter establish a series utilising a new set of regulations that will define a route from karting through to F1.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport