Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


The trailer for Paul Kimmage's upcoming 'Rough Rider' documentary

Published 23/07/2014 | 08:58

Paul Kimmage. Photo: David Conachy
Paul Kimmage. Photo: David Conachy

In the new documentary, filmmakers Wildfire show how former pro-cycler Paul Kimmage has coped with the recent turmoil in the world of cycling, particularly the effect the coverage of the Lance Armstrong doping scandal has had on the journalist.

Due for release on July 28, the film will also include footage of Kimmage at the centenary Tour de France last summer.

Throughout his journalism career, Kimmage was hailed as anti-drugs campaigner, attempting to rid the pro-cycling world of the drug takers which have had a considerable impact on the sport’s reputation.

His journalistic efforts were not without their consequences, however, as Kimmage lost his position at the Sunday Times and faced being sued for defamation byt UCI chief Pat McQuaid, a one-time friend and manager of Kimmage.

The documentary title, Rough Rider, is a play on the name of Kimmage’s book, Rough Ride, which was published in 1990. The book, for which Kimmage left cycling to write, focuses on his own experience at achieving success through hard work– and lifted the lid on the prevalent competitive drug use in the sport.

In this clip the film crew encountered problems when they had equipment stolen while in Corsica in July of last year.

 

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport