Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Cavendish plays down his chances of leading the way

Barry Byrne

Published 04/07/2014 | 02:30

Omega Pharma-Quick Step's Mark Cavendish waves to the crowd during the team presentation ceremony at the First Direct Arena in Leeds ahead of the start of the start of the 101st Tour de France. Photo: LIONEL BONAVENTURE/AFP/Getty Images
Omega Pharma-Quick Step's Mark Cavendish waves to the crowd during the team presentation ceremony at the First Direct Arena in Leeds ahead of the start of the start of the 101st Tour de France. Photo: LIONEL BONAVENTURE/AFP/Getty Images

Mark Cavendish yesterday attempted to play down the chance to claim the Tour de France's race leader's yellow jersey in his mother's home town of Harrogate tomorrow.

  • Go To

The 190.5-kilometre opening stage from Leeds will thrust Cavendish into the race leader's maillot jaune for the first time if he manages to claim a 26th stage victory of his distinguished career. Eddy Merckx has the record of 34 stage wins.

The 29-year-old from the Isle of Man, whose mother Adele is from the Yorkshire town, is bidding to become the seventh Briton to lead the Tour, after Tom Simpson, Chris Boardman, Sean Yates, David Millar, Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froome.

"It would be nice to wear the yellow jersey – I've not yet done that," admitted Cavendish. "But it's not a given. There's 200 bike riders, almost, on the start line and every one of those would like to wear the yellow jersey.

STRONG

"The Tour de France is 21 days long. It doesn't begin and end in Yorkshire. We've got an incredibly strong Omega Pharma-QuickStep team and we'd like to be successful throughout the three weeks."

Cavendish secured, by his high standards, a low return of just two stages of last year's Tour as Marcel Kittel (Giant-Shimano) emerged as the premier sprinter with four wins.

Andre Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) and Arnaud Demare (FDJ) have also performed well in the bunch sprints in recent seasons and will challenge for yellow in Harrogate.

"I'm incredibly lucky to have won 25 stages of the Tour de France," Cavendish said. "One win in a rider's career can make their career, let alone one win per year."

Only four of the 198 riders who will take to the start line in Leeds are British – Cavendish, Froome Geraint Thomas (both Team Sky) and Simon Yates (Orica-GreenEDGE), with Nicolas Roche flying the Irish flag. Wiggins was not selected by Team Sky and Garmin-Sharp did not select Millar.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport