Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Cilic handed nine-month ban

tennis Simon Briggs

Published 17/09/2013 | 05:00

The fog surrounding Marin Cilic's self-imposed exile from the circuit has finally cleared after the International Tennis Federation handed him a nine-month suspension for a positive dope test.

The sentence, which has been back-dated to May 1 and will run until the end of January, might seem lenient. That is because the ITF accepted Cilic's claim that the banned substance, a stimulant called nikethamide, had been ingested inadvertently. Even so, Cilic (24) said he plans to appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

"I am frustrated that I cannot talk more about the case at this time," he said, "but I will do so as soon as the legal process is over."

The ITF acknowledges that the nikethamide came in a packet of Coramine glucose tablets, a dietary supplement that Cilic had been using regularly and which, in the form he normally took, did not contravene the World Anti-Doping Agency code. (© Daily Telegraph, London)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport