Friday 24 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


BOXING: Hickey ready for semi-final Date

Published 13/02/2013 | 16:46

Ross Hickey
Ross Hickey

REIGNING light-welterweight champion Ross Hickey will be taking nothing for granted against newcomer Rohan Date in their semi-final of the Elite Championships at the National Stadium on Friday.

Hickey is seeking his third consecutive 64kg crown this year and has ruled out complacency against the young Waterford challenger.

“Rohan had a good win last weekend and he performed well in the European U/23 Championships. He’s obviously a talented boxer and I can’t take anything for granted, not that I was ever going to take anything for granted anyway, said Hickey, who received a bye into the last-four,” the former European bronze medallist, who received a bye to Friday’s semi-final, said.

“I didn’t mind receiving a bye. I’ve got plenty of fights under my belt and plenty of good sparring in preparation anyway and I’m in great shape. I’m looking forward to Friday night. I’m going for my fourth title overall and hopefully it works out for me.”

Date, a 19 year old who boxes out of the St Paul’s BC, is competing in his first Elite Championships this year.

The Waterford prospect represented Ireland at the inaugural European U/23 Championships in Kaliningrad, Russia last December and was very unlucky to be edged out (10-9) by Ukrainian Oleg Neklyudov, a double World Youth and Junior champion.

He qualified for Friday’s semi-final with a third round KO of Niall Murray.

Neill Gough and David Ryan were working Date’s corner against Murray last weekend and Gough acknowledged that it will be a tough task against the title holder.

“Ross is the defending champion and he’s obviously a formidable boxer. Rohan had a good win last weekend and that has boosted his confidence,” he said.

“He’ll be giving it his best shot against Ross on Friday night. This is his first Senior Championships and he’s gaining valuable experience.”

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport