Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


O'Shea wants McClean to cut loose

Published 06/02/2013 | 07:41

John O'Shea is excited by the potential of the Republic of Ireland's wingers
John O'Shea is excited by the potential of the Republic of Ireland's wingers

Skipper John O'Shea has told winger James McClean to cut loose as he attempts to establish himself in the Ireland team.

The 23-year-old Sunderland winger will win his seventh senior cap in Wednesday night's friendly against Poland at the Aviva Stadium after enduring a relatively slow start to his international career.

O'Shea said: "It's a fantastic opportunity for James. He hasn't played the last couple of games for Sunderland, but just before that a couple of months ago, he was scoring goals again and starting to show what I know especially James is capable of and what he has shown in the last couple of days in training."

He continued: "The maturity shows, especially defensively. He probably does it too much - he helps out his full-back too much. He probably needs to concentrate more on his attacking game.

"It's a great opportunity for him and I am more than confident he will take it with both hands because he has got the hunger to do well.

"Once you are doing the right things off the pitch, it should come right for you on it, and he has definitely been doing that."

McClean will line up on the left with 21-year-old Robbie Brady occupying the right wing weeks after taking the tough decision to leave Manchester United, the club he supports, for Hull in a bid to play regular first-team football.

O'Shea, of course, learned his trade at Old Trafford and eventually managed to force his way into Sir Alex Ferguson's plans, but he praised Brady for his bravery.

He said: "It's a very brave decision. I suppose in the back of a young lad's mind, you are thinking, 'I could get a chance, I could get a chance'. I had a couple of loan moves before it worked out for me with the first team at United, and there's always that doubt in your mind, will you get that chance? It's one of those things. I was fortunate, I got the chance and I was able to take it.

"Robbie could have waited, but you kind of get the feeling from the manager there if you are going to get that chance. Robbie was back at United for a few weeks training and he thought he might have been involved maybe in one or two games, and when wasn't, he has made the decision. It's a very brave one and I think one in the long term he will benefit from massively."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport