Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Neill keen to avoid postponement

Published 23/03/2013 | 08:26

Windsor Park was unplayable on Friday
Windsor Park was unplayable on Friday

Northern Ireland manager Michael O'Neill admits he will be left with a huge headache if his side's World Cup qualifier against Russia falls foul of the weather for the second time.

  • Go To

The Group F clash was due to take place at Windsor Park on Friday night but was postponed until 3pm on Saturday after driving snow in Belfast left the pitch unplayable. FIFA regulations state that the Irish Football Association must attempt to stage the match, but with more bad weather anticipated and the pitch already in poor shape that appears to be a long shot.

With another home match against Israel due on Tuesday night, there is little leeway beyond Saturday, and O'Neill said: "We can only prepare as though the game is going ahead. If that doesn't happen then that is a whole different set of circumstances with the fixture schedule."

He went on: "We play Israel on Tuesday and where we would try to fit the Russia game in, in that event, would be a huge issue. We will only address it tomorrow if it happens."

Forecasts had suggested the weather could be an issue, so O'Neill had considered the possibility of postponement in his preparations.

Should the game go ahead, he does not feel his side will have been unduly affected by the change but concedes it is an unusual development.

"We prepared with this scenario in mind also so we are comfortable enough about it," he said.

"None of the players will have experienced anything like this before in their international careers.

"It isn't ideal but it isn't exactly the end of the world either.

"Our preparations won't be disturbed too much by the cancellation. With the work we have done all week, we were prepared whether the game was on Friday or Saturday. Mentally the players will have to prepare for the game all over again, but I can't see it being a major issue."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport