Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Connor handed flagbearer honour

Published 23/02/2014 | 07:22

Seamus O'Connor has been chosen to be Ireland's flagbearer for the closing ceremony in Sochi
Seamus O'Connor has been chosen to be Ireland's flagbearer for the closing ceremony in Sochi

The Olympic Council of Ireland has recognised Seamus O'Connor's impressive performances in snowboard events by selecting him as the Irish flag bearer for Sunday's Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics closing ceremony.

American-born O'Connor, who has an English father a Russian mother and Irish grandparents from Dublin and Drogheda, will lead Team Ireland into the Olympic Stadium for the ceremony which is due to start at 2014 local time (1614GMT).

Irish team chef de mission Stephen Martin said "Seamus was one of only three snowboarders to compete in both the slope-style and half pipe disciplines, and had the best Team Ireland results in Sochi.

"At 16 years of age he finished 15th and 17th in his first Olympic Games.

"He can develop into a star performer over the next four years at World Cup and Olympic competition.

"Through his performances and support of other team members he has earned the right to carry the flag of his country and lead Team Ireland at the closing ceremony."

O'Connor, from San Diego, said: "When I received the flag bearer news I was beyond honoured.

"These Olympics have given me several life changing moments and this is indeed another! I could not be more proud."

O'Connor will lead out fellow team members Sean Greenwood (skeleton), Conor Lyne and Florence Bell (alpine skeleton) and Jan Rossiter (cross country).

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport