Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Connell sees room to improve

Published 15/06/2014 | 18:07

Ireland's captain Paul O'Connell has seen room for improvement
Ireland's captain Paul O'Connell has seen room for improvement

Ireland captain Paul O'Connell was happy to come out on top in both Tests against Argentina - even if neither of the performances were particularly pleasing to him.

Ireland had never won in Argentina prior to last weekend's 29-17 triumph, but while they sealed another 23-17 success in Tucuman on Saturday night, O'Connell felt a sense of disappointment about the performances.

"Since last November we've been marginally improving all the time and when we have taken a step back we have learned from it very quickly and pressed-on so, to have two weeks and not performed and not been as accurate as we would have liked to have been, is disappointing," he said.

"I suppose we didn't get a lot of time together, but I think for a lot of the guys for whom it's their first experience of working under (coach) Joe (Schmidt), hopefully this will be of big benefit to them.

"You do get asked to do a lot of things very, very different to what you do back in your home province certainly for the Munster, the Ulster, the Connacht guys. So, it's a big learning curve."

O'Connell believes the key now is to regroup next season and push on with Ireland, with he himself looking forward to getting back into action for the new season after a break.

"Hopefully now I will get a very good, strong pre-season in now, build on what we've done this year under Joe with Ireland and get another pre-season into the World Cup and hopefully go there and achieve something special," he added.

"I haven't had a pre-season since the World Cup so that's when you really make the big gains, so from now on in it's all about getting for that."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport