Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


O'Brien: Still plenty to play for

Published 15/02/2013 | 08:41

Sean O'Brien believes there is 'still a lot to play for' in the RBS 6 Nations Championship
Sean O'Brien believes there is 'still a lot to play for' in the RBS 6 Nations Championship

Flanker Sean O'Brien insists Ireland must be ready to pounce on any errors by their RBS 6 Nations title rivals when they resume their championship against Scotland.

  • Go To

England are in the driving seat following their 12-6 victory in Dublin on Saturday and the only unbeaten team remaining in an unpredictable tournament. The defeat at the Aviva Stadium was deflating for Ireland, who have lost Jonathan Sexton and Mike McCarthy to injury for the trip to Murrayfield - but O'Brien refuses to give up hope.

"There's still a lot to play for. The Six Nations is and it isn't out of our own hands," the Leinster openside said. "If we leave ourselves in the best possible shape, there will be a slip-up somewhere for the other teams down the line."

He added: "Anyone can beat anyone on any day. If we leave ourselves in the best possible position, we can do no more than that."

Ireland will also be missing Cian Healy in Edinburgh after the loosehead prop was banned for three matches for his stamp on England's Dan Cole.

Although there is confusion over whether Healy can play for Leinster on Saturday, he is definitely unavailable against Scotland and France, subject to any successful appeal.

Sexton has a grade two hamstring tear that usually requires four to six weeks to heal, making him a major doubt to face France in the penultimate round of fixtures, while McCarthy has damaged the medial ligament of his right knee and will be in a brace for two weeks, at the end of which his fitness will be reassessed.

More positive news was received on the remaining injuries incurred during a brutal clash against England. O'Brien, centre Brian O'Driscoll, full-back Rob Kearney and lock Donnacha Ryan are at varying degrees of fitness, but all should be available to face Scotland.

"We're looking forward to getting back on the horse against Scotland. It's a good game for both teams," O'Brien said. "Our errors, as a team and as individuals, stand out from the England game. They cost us.

"A few of them happened within minutes of each other and put us under a bit of pressure and they kicked a couple of scores from that."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport