Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Brien released from Ireland squad

Published 12/05/2014 | 19:32

Joey O'Brien will not add to his five Republic of Ireland caps this summer
Joey O'Brien will not add to his five Republic of Ireland caps this summer

West Ham defender Joey O'Brien has been released from the Ireland squad for their end-of-season friendlies.

  • Go To

O'Brien was included in the provisional 32-man party for the games against Turkey, Italy, Costa Rica and Portugal when manager Martin O'Neill named it last week.

However, he will now not join up and concentrate instead on his own fitness programme.

A spokesman for the Football Association of Ireland said: "The Football Association of Ireland today confirmed that following discussions between FAI and West Ham's medical teams, Joey O'Brien has been released from Martin O'Neill's provisional squad to manage his off-season medical programme."

O'Brien will not be replaced in the initial party for the clashes with Turkey in Dublin on May 25, Italy at Craven Cottage on May 31, Costa Rica in Philadelphia on June 6 and Portugal in New Jersey four days later.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport