Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


National glory for Kilkenny

Published 05/05/2013 | 17:51

Kilkenny beat Tipperary 2-17 to 0-20
Kilkenny beat Tipperary 2-17 to 0-20

Kilkenny retained their National Hurling League title with a 2-17 to 0-20 win over Tipperary at Nowlan Park.

Two Michael Fennelly goals in the first half set the All-Ireland champions up for another league crown, achieved in the absence of their manager Bran Cody, who is recovering from heart surgery.

Fennelly rifled home a third minute goal to give Kilkenny an early boost, and after Tipp had fought back with points from Eoin Kelly, Noel McGrath and Seamus Callanan, Fennelly fired in a second goal from a tight angle in the 21st minute.

Once again, the Premier county battled their way back into the game, hitting quality scores through Brendan Maher (3), Kelly and Noel McGrath.

But late scores from Lester Ryan and Fennelly sent the Cats in with a 2-7 to 0-11 interval lead.

Brendan Maher brought Tipperary level with his fourth point midway through the second half, moments after a flare-up had resulted in the straight red card dismissals of Kilkenny full back JJ Delaney and Tipp attacker Lar Corbett.

Kilkenny pushed on in the closing stages with Eoin Larkin, Ryan and Michael Rice hitting the points that saw them over the finish line.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport