Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Munster's Conor Murray cited for allegedly striking with an elbow

Published 27/10/2013 | 20:09

Conor Murray
Conor Murray

Munster scrumhalf Conor Murray could miss the upcoming November internationls after he was cited for an alleged elbow on Glasgow's Niko Matawalu in last Friday's 13-6 win over the Warriors at Scotsun

  • Go To

It was announced this evening that Murray was cited for foul play contrary to rule 10.4(a) - striking with the elbow while Matawalu was cited under rule 10.4(m) - biting an opponent.

Law 10.4 (a) carries the following penalties: Low End: 2 weeks; Mid Range: 5 weeks; Top End: 8 to 52 weeks.

Murray could be in danger of missing the Guinness Series International against Samoa(November 9), Australia(November 16) and New Zealand(November 24).

No date has been given to when Murray's hearing will be held in front of an independent Rabodirect Pro12 disciplinary committee

Murray alleged elbow was brought to the attention of Celtic Rugby and the citing commissioner by Glasgow Warriors who made a formal complaint yesterday.

A Glasgow Warriors spokesperson said: “We believe a dangerous act of foul play was committed by a Munster player against Niko Matawalu during last night's game at Scotstoun.

“We have formally written to the citing commissioner to draw his attention to this.

“The matter is now with the citing commissioner and Celtic Rugby to review as part of their disciplinary process. 

“Glasgow Warriors will be making no further comment whilst the matter is being investigated by Celtic Rugby."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport