Sport

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Munster champs Limerick defy underdog status to stun Tipp

Published 01/06/2014 | 18:12

Sean Tobin, left, celebrates after his Limerick team mate Shane Dowling had scored a goal from a free in the 17th minute
Sean Tobin, left, celebrates after his Limerick team mate Shane Dowling had scored a goal from a free in the 17th minute

Munster champions but big outsiders Limerick produced some late heroics to beat Tipperary by 2-18 to 2-16 in a pulsating encounter at Semple Stadium.

Their preparation had been upset by Donal O'Grady resignation as co-manager but the controversy didn't seem to affect TJ Ryan's team.

Installed as 3/1 outsiders before the throw-in, Limerick, inspired by Shane Dowling's scoring exploits, edged Tipp in a classic Munster championship clash.

Both sides exchanged early points after a frenetic start to the game before Niall O'Meara edged Tipp in front  after 10 minutes.

Limerick equalised and then hit the front when Shane Dowling smashed a 20-yard free into the roof of the net and Kevin Downes stretched their advantage from the puck-out.

Four minutes after Limerick's goal, Tipp had one of their own as Patrick 'Bonner' Maher showed great tenacity to shake off would-be tacklers before finding the net.

It was neck-and-neck for the remainder of the half with Declan Hannon and Seamus Callanan all hitting crucial scores and the sides were level at 1-8 apiece.

Gearoid Ryan stole in to give Tipp a huge boost with a goal inside the first minutes of the second half.

Limerick responded by rattling off four points with the pick an inspirational strike from captain Donal O'Grady.

Eamonn O'Shea's men managed to squeeze in front but Limerick just wouldn't go away as both sides went at each hammer and thongs.

When Denis Maher put Tipp three points ahead in the last few minutes it was looking ominous for TJ Ryan's side but the freescoring Shane Dowling scored an amazing goal on the stroke of full-time to equalise.

The game was in the melting pot but the momentum was with the Limerick men and points from Tom Ryan and Seamus Hickey saw them to victory and a place in the Munster final.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport