Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Moreno takes red jersey

Published 01/09/2013 | 18:06

Daniel Moreno leads the Vuelta a Espana heading into the 10th stage
Daniel Moreno leads the Vuelta a Espana heading into the 10th stage

Spaniard Daniel Moreno claimed the leader's red jersey in the Vuelta a Espana on Sunday after he won the ninth stage between Antequera and Valdepenas de Jaen.

  • Go To

Irishman Nicolas Roche (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) had held the red jersey overnight but Moreno now leads by just one second following his latest win.

The Team Katusha rider led home a Spanish trio at the end of the 163.7km stage, collecting his second stage win of the grand tour having already succeeded on stage four.

Alejandro Valverde Belmonte and Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver finished four seconds shy of their compatriot Moreno, who burst clear in the closing stages of the uphill finish to collect the 10 seconds he needed for the victory with a provisional finishing time of four hours, 18 minutes and 57 seconds.

Coupled with his eight-second lead over Roche, who finished fourth in Valdepenas de Jaen, the 31-year-old has moved to the top of the general classification.

Moreno will be heartened by his stage win, adding to the one already secured on Wednesday, with 11 stages remaining before the final flat stage to Madrid on September 15.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport