Thursday 17 April 2014

MDMA and Tony Kelly scoop top gongs at GAA GPA All Star Awards

Dublin's hard-running midfielder Michael Darragh Macauley and the Clare's skillfull centre forward Tony Kelly have been named the GAA GPA football and hurling Players of the Year.

The All-Star hurling team was revealed yesterday leaving just the young player and player of the year awards to be handed out and Tony Kelly plundered both awards for the Banner county.

Michael Darragh Macauley was a deserving winner of the top footballer of the year having been shortlisted with Stephen Cluxton and Lee Keegan.

All-Ireland football champions Dublin lead the way in this year’s GAA GPA All-Star football line up with six awards.

Team captain goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton lands his fifth award equalling the haul achieved by legendary county netminder John O’Leary.

He is joined in the team by Rory O’Carroll, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Darragh Macauley, Paul Flynn and Bernard Brogan.

He was not named in the All Star first XV but Jack McCaffrey took the award for the Young Football of the Year beating off competition from Paul Mannion and previous winner Cillian O'Connor of Mayo.

Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire
Goalkeeper: Stephen Cluxton

Beaten All-Ireland finalists and Connacht champions Mayo follow with four awards and Monaghan, Tyrone and Kerry are also represented on the team.

In all there are seven first time winners – O’Carroll, Keith Higgins, Colm Boyle, Cian O’Sullivan, Aidan O’Shea, James O’Donoghue and Conor McManus.

The half forward line of Paul Flynn, Colm Cooper and Seán Cavanagh can boast of a final combined haul of 15 awards between them with Cooper leading the way with no fewer than seven.

Cork's Anthony Nash gets the nod for the goalkeeper position from Martin Breheny
Goalkeeper: Anthony Nash

The Player of the year awards were presented to the following players:

Footballer of the Year

Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

Hurler of the Year

Tony Kelly (Clare)

Young Footballer of the Year

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Young Hurler of the Year

Tony Kelly (Clare)


2013 GAA GPA Football All-Stars sponsored by Opel


1.Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)


Full backs

2. Colin Walshe (Monaghan)

3. Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)

4. Keith Higgins (Mayo)


Half backs

5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)

6. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

7. Colm Boyle (Mayo)



8. Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

9. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)


Half forwards

10. Paul Flynn (Dublin)

11. Colm Cooper (Kerry)

12. Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)


Full forwards

13. James O’Donoghue (Kerry)

14. Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

15. Conor McManus (Monaghan)


2013 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel


1.Anthony Nash (Cork)


Full backs

2. Richie McCarthy (Limerick)

3. Peter Kelly (Dublin)

4. David McInerney (Clare)


Half backs

5. Brendan Bugler (Clare)

6. Liam Rushe (Dublin)

7. Patrick Donnellan (Clare)



8. Colm Galvin (Clare)

9. Conor Ryan (Clare)


Half forwards

10. Séamus Harnedy (Cork)

11. Tony Kelly (Clare)

12. Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin)


Full forwards

13. Pádraic Collins (Clare)

14. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

15. Conor McGrath (Clare)

Also in this Section




Meet, chat and connect with
singles in your area


Meet Singles Now



Now available on

Don't Miss

Top Stories

Celebrity News